Twin Valley to Bring 8 Gbps Fiber to Haysville

Read Announcement



FCC Announces Changes to Phone Service

March 25, 2021

Twin Valley News Article February 2022 Featured Image 10 Digit Dialing.jpg

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has adopted 988 as a new three-digit number to be used nationwide to reach the National Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Lifeline, starting July 16, 2022. Customers must continue to dial 1-800-273-TALK to reach the Lifeline until July 16, 2022.

In order for 988 to work in the 620 Area Code, 10-digit local dialing must be implemented, causing a change in the way you place local calls. In the state of Kansas, this also affects the 785 Area Code. Additional Area Codes affected are listed by state at the end of this help article.

What will be the new dialing procedure?

To complete all local calls, you will now need to dial 620 + seven-digit telephone number. This applies to all calls within the 620 Area Code that are currently dialed with seven digits.

Who will be affected?

Anyone with a telephone number from your area code will need to make this change from seven-digit local dialing to 10-digit local dialing.

When will the change begin?

Beginning April 24, 2021, you should begin dialing 10 digits (620 + seven-digit telephone number) for all local calls. If you forget and dial just seven digits, your call will still be completed.

Beginning October 24, 2021, you must dial 10 digits (620 + seven-digit telephone number) for all local calls. On and after this date, local calls dialed with only seven digits may not be completed, and a recording will inform you that your call cannot be completed as dialed.  You must hang up and dial again using the area code and the seven-digit number.

Beginning July 16, 2022, dialing “988” will route your call to the National Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Lifeline.

What will you need to do?

In addition to changing the way you dial local calls, all services, automatic dialing equipment, or other types of equipment that are programmed to complete calls to seven-digit local numbers will need to be reprogrammed to complete calls to 10-digit numbers. Some examples are life safety systems or medical monitoring devices, PBXs, fax machines, internet dial-up numbers, fire or burglar alarm and security systems or gates, speed dialers, mobile or other wireless phone contact lists, call forwarding settings, voicemail services and other similar functions. Be sure to check your website, personal and business stationery, advertising materials, personal and business checks, contact information, your personal or pet ID tags, and other such items to ensure the area code is included.

What will remain the same?

  • Your telephone number, including current area code, will not change
  • The price of a call, coverage area, or other rates and services will not change due to the dialing change
  • What is a local call now will remain a local call regardless of the number of digits dialed
  • You will continue to dial 1+ 620 + seven-digit telephone number for all long distance calls
  • You can still dial just three digits to reach 711 (relay services) and 911 (emergency services)
  • Any 211, 311, 411, 511, 611, or 811 services available in your community can still be reached by dialing their three-digit codes
  • The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can still be reached by dialing 1-800-273-TALK (8255)

Who may you contact with questions?

If you have any questions regarding information provided in this notice, please contact SKT Customer Service at 888.758.8976.  You can also visit the FCC website.

Read the FCC Press Release

Other Area Codes

  • Click to Expand List

    Alaska: 907

    Alabama: 251

    Arkansas: 501

    Arizona: 480, 520, 928

    California: 209, 530, 562, 626, 650, 707, 925, 949, 951

    Colorado: 719, 970

    Delaware: 302

    Florida: 321 (Brevard County), 352, 561, 941

    Georgia: 478, 912

    Guam: 671

    Hawaii: 808

    Illinois: 309, 618, 708

    Indiana: 219, 574

    Iowa: 319, 515

    Kansas: 620, 785

    Kentucky: 859

    Louisiana: 337, 504

    Michigan: 616, 810, 906, 989

    Minnesota: 218, 952

    Mississippi: 662

    Missouri: 314, 417, 660, 816

    Montana: 406

    Nevada: 775

    New Hampshire: 603

    New Jersey: 856, 908

    New Mexico: 505, 575

    New York: 516, 607, 716, 845, 914

    North Carolina: 910

    Ohio: 440, 513

    South Dakota: 605

    Tennessee: 731, 865

    Texas: 254, 361, 409, 806, 830, 915, 940

    Vermont: 802

    Virginia: 276, 804

    Washington: 509

    Wisconsin: 262, 414, 608, 920